Everyone’s Story

Today has been a beautiful rest day. I woke up early to attend yoga at Baptiste yoga in Brookline, MA. It may have been one of my worst practices to date but to be honest it felt good to not care/mind. It was not due to the teaching or the studio. It was an internal struggle I couldn’t overcome. I felt weak from black light yoga the night before and just run down. I immediately came home and hit the hay for a nice two-hour nap. It was just what the doctor ordered.

After waking up from my snooze I did a little online research on different types of trail running products so I know what to look for once I get geared up. My fellow Janji Corps Members helped me out quite a bit while I was in over my head searching for the right watch for my ultra coming up in September. It felt amazing to have a group of people I could go to with questions and receive honest, judgment free responses. They really are rock stars.

As my online search continued I kept stumbling upon a recurring theme. We all have a story. We all struggle with something and we all find ways to cope differently. My original discovery was about my beautiful, amazing, and inspirational coworker Brittany Young. She finally let the cat out of the bag and announced when she was younger Barbara Rudow had written a book about her called Born to Run : The Brittany Young Story. The description of the book is said best by the author so I’ll just quote her rather than rambling on in my own messy words. 

“At the age of 7, Brittany Young had a horrible accident. Her legs and feet were burned so badly that doctors weren’t sure if she would ever walk again. Years later, after enduring thousands of hours of treatment and therapy, Brittany can not only walk-she can run! In fact, she is one of the top high school runners in the country. This is the remarkable true story of a determined young girl from Hawaii who simply wouldn’t quit. Her competitive spirit and natural talent transformed her from a burn victim to a competitive runner who was : Born to Run.” –Barbara Rudow

If that’s not totally inspiring I don’t know what is, I can’t wait to read this book and support Brittany at her event to raise $5,000 for her Boston Marathon bib. The event is being hosted in our Lululemon store loft on Newbury Street March 16th at 6:00pm. So if you’re hanging out in Boston please stop by and support her! Tickets are available on Eventbrite :

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/read-to-run-tickets-15920514688

She is even offering the option to have the book mailed to you with a love note. I’ve received a Brittany love note and let me tell you, they’re absolutely heartwarming.

This led to yet another amazing discovery, a video of Rob Krar openly discussing his struggles with depression.

http://gearjunkie.com/rob-krar-video

Hearing him speak so eloquently about what depression has been like for him was beyond inspiring. I think I may have watched this video about five or six times at this point. I can’t wait to not only meet him but also train with him this July. When people are open about things that are extremely personal I’m immediately drawn to them like a moth to a flame.

Today we get so caught up in our beliefs of what is right and what is wrong we forget that people experience things in different ways. No one sails through life without some kind of struggle whether it be physical, mental or both. We are also such harsh critics towards one another it seems we forget that we already have a critic living deep within our own brain space. We are our own worst enemy most of the time. I’ve been reading a series of books by Don Miguel Ruiz that has opened my eyes to this. The first book in the series is The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom. The book uses Toltec wisdom to explain how to escape the voices we create within our own heads and the preconceived notions we’ve been raised to believe. The four agreements are :

four_agreements

The Toltec’s believed that if you followed these guides you would find ultimate freedom. I’ve been working on this for a few months now and I find myself most free while running. It’s the only time my brain truly finds stillness and quiet. I think that’s why it’s become such a force in my life lately. I have dealt with my own struggles and coped with them the way I find to be the most comfortable and natural. We all have something that grows within us that can turn dark and negative. By following the light we can find peace and joy. I know this might sound a little hippy-dippy to some people but I found throughout my yoga teacher training this is a recurring truth. It might take a different form for each person but it’s there and it’s something that should be addressed. I guess what I’m trying to say is don’t forget you’re beautiful inside and out. Also, to have the confidence to not only find strength within ourselves but also to feel comfortable finding solace in another.

Welp, that’s my song and dance for the night folks. I would run through my vegan diet for the day but it was 99.9% raw fruit. I’ll blame the midday nap for throwing my meal plan off base. Anyway, good night friends!

-KS

Leave a Reply

